Pounding Sugar Cane

Occasionally I have a day where I fit so much in it feels like the day is two , yesterday was one of those days.

It started with an early morning swim and then a couple of dance lessons where I learnt one of the origins of salsa, “Son ” . Next , I learnt I danced the,  “Pilon ” a dance that originated from the motion of watching women pound sugar cane, I also played the music of Pilon in a mini band. ..who would have thought,  I like playing drums! 

The afternoon never became any quieter with a trip to discover the history of Lewis Carroll in Daresbury and then off to Uttoxeter …why?  Because I have always fancied going there.  As it turns out,  as quaint as it was,  the town is mostly shut on Sunday afternoons. 

And what better way to finish the day.. work!  Yes, at 7pm I then had work, but I do enjoy my self employed business,  so it’s not really work in my mind 

Leave a Reply

